Skip to content

Tomato season means tomato festivals

July 19, 2011
My tomatoes in early spring and now

Have you driven on the freeway to see trucks carrying big loads of tomato?  You will probably start to see them now that it is tomato season.  I was inspired to write this post when I watered my tomato plants and was just amazed at how much it has grown to a tall plant in over three months.  It is now towering past my height, growing over 5 feet high and bearing cherry and heirloom tomatoes. If my tomatoes are beginning to harvest, imagine how it would be on a bigger scale, such as the farms.  I immediately thought, tomato festivals and checked my c.i.c. festival calendar and sure enough, tomato festivals across the state are held between July to September, around the time when tomato season is at its peak in California.   Celebrate the harvesting season by attending tomato related events with cooking demos, samples, contests, and more.  Most are towards my hometown in Northern California.  Anyone know of tomato events in southern California?

On a larger scale, there is the famous La Tomatina tomato fight in Spain held every last Wednesday in August.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 3, 2011 9:38 pm

    Your tomatoes look great!

    • August 4, 2011 9:58 pm

      Thank You! THey just ripened and I have not purchased a tomato in months.

Reply

